top of page
Image by Valdemaras D.


Our Scandinavian Studies Board consists of volunteers interested in keeping the Scandinavian culture alive within Canada.  We meet as needed, but usually four times a year.  If you are interested in serving on our board, please contact our President.


Nordahl Flakstad


Carl Sorensen

Vice President

Leanne Boraas


Valerie Vale


Kaare Boraas

Lorraine Ilnicki

Roger Bruce

Trevor Nyroos

Ruth Sjoberg

SSA BOARD:  Our Board consist of nine Directors, which shall include five Directors at Large and the Executive.  The Executive of the Association consists of the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.  The Association’s activities are governed by the SSA board.  Roles of the Board are documented and can be provided.  The funds donated by SSA to the UofA are managed through the University.  If you are interested in serving on our board, please contact the President. 


BOARD MEETINGS:  Meetings of the Board shall be called by ten day’s notice in advance in writing sent to each Board member by mail or three days in advance by electronic communication, including email and telephone. Meets are held as needed but usually four times a year. 

MEMBERS:   Scandinavian Studies Association bylaw defines Association membership based on being 18 years of age or older and having completed volunteer service (such as being a casino volunteer) to the Association or significant volunteer service to the Association in previous years.  Members will receive periodic newsletters and be entitled to participate and vote at the annual general meeting.  If you are interested in Scandinavian Language and supporting the Association, financially or by other means, please consider becoming a member.

bottom of page